• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Over-ear headphones that would seal & respond consistently across multiple seatings & individuals?

ADU

Major Contributor
If you've happened by Doc O's twitter recently, you've probably heard that he's searching for both a set of good closed and open headphones with these characteristics to use for some new testing on HRTFs. So thought I'd start a thread on the subject.

I have little to no personal experience with higher-end headphones that might be good candidates in this regard. So not sure I can offer much in terms of useful input. Rtings ranks headphones based on the consistency of their response across multiple seatings though. And this is something that can also be seen on FR plots where multiple seatings are shown and then averaged, including the old Inner Fidelity plots, and also some of Jude's recent HBK 5128 plots, I believe. I'm less sure about some other sites.

Last edited:
OP
A

ADU

Major Contributor
Most of the lower cost headphones I've tried would not be great candidates imo, because the cups are too small, or because the pads or hinges do not allow consistent sealing, or because they have single-sided cables that pull more on one side than the other, and provide poor symmetry. The AKG K371 & K553, AudioTechnica M30x, M40x & M50x, Sony MDR-7506, and Beyer DT-770 & DT-990 would probably all fall into this category imo.

Some of the closed-back Sennheisers and Shure headphones might possibly work a little better. But I'm not really sure about that, since I haven't used them as much. I have also used and tried a few of the open Sennheisers, and they seem like they might be a bit more consistent.