• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Opinions on Hypex Plate (FusionAMP) Amplifiers?

abdo123

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
They seem to offer the biggest bang for the buck i have seen in my entire life.

DAC? check
DSP and active crossover? check
Amp? check
excellent measurements / scores? check

Anyone here used ones in their recent builds? Any experiences?

YSDR

Hi!

I have been using these (two FA253) for 2 years now and have nothing to complain about (knocking on wood). They are rich in features and sounds really good. The software (HFD) may be a little weird for beginners, but it can be learned quickly. Feel free to ask if you are curious about something.

They are now used by some manufacturers to powering even high-end speakers. For example:
Lyravox loudspeakers

OP
A

abdo123

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi!

I have been using these (two FA253) for 2 years now and have nothing to complain about (knocking on wood). They are rich in features and sounds really good. The software (HFD) may be a little weird for beginners, but it can be learned quickly. Feel free to ask if you are curious about something.

They are now used by some manufacturers to powering even high-end speakers. For example:
Lyravox loudspeakers

How flexible is HFD? Can you learn to build any crossover filter with it?

Also i noticed you have the 100W extra tweeter amp version, do they match the gain of that extra unit with the two 250W amps? I’m thinking of using FA123 too.

andreasmaaan

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Great value for money, great performance. The ADC/DACs have not been measured, but Hypex specs them at >100dB THD/SNR, and their specs are generally reliable.