• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

"Not-enough-to-drive the heaphones", how is it defined?

Budgeter

In this thread, I want to focus mainly on the aspect of power output. I'm not certain if other aspects like frequency, distortion, etc. affects the power output. To be clear, I'm not an expert in electrical/audio engineering by any means.

When looking a new amplifier, it is easy to find people asking this question: "Does this amplifier have enough power to drive [name of the headphones]?" However, I wonder in what scenarios can we definitely say an amplifier is not enough for XXX headphones. Many people just go to other options when an amplifier is said to be "not-enough power" for their headphones.

Currently, I'm owning JDS Labs Atom (no-plus, driven by Topping D10) and Fiio E10k. Atom amp maximum output is 250mW @300 ohms (https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...ents-of-new-jds-labs-atom-headphone-amp.5262/), while E10k is 200mW @ 32 ohms (Fiio spec, this model was not fully measured on our forum). Undoubtedly, unlike E10k, the Atom amp is a power house here. Fiio also recommends E10k for only 16~150 ohms.

My use case is 99% YouTube, 1% Spotify (all free-tier). One of my headphones is DT990 Edition 600 ohms, definitely not very sensitive though as it is certainly more demanding than a 250 ohms Pro variants (https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...eyerdynamic-dt990-pro-review-headphone.19975/).