• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie Setup for Turntable and Digital

walter_sobchak

Hello forum, newbie here. I'm looking for a system for playing a turntable and digital music in a smaller 12x14 room. I currently have an Orbit turntable, TC750 preamp, Aiyima A01 Pro, and Polk ES15s. Playing the turntable is easy enough. But for digital, I'm relegated to the Bluetooth on the A01 Pro, and I would like to improve this to at least CD quality.

I use Apple Music and it would be a pain point to switch to something else. I also have a PC, which does not support AM lossless. So the options seemingly are a wired connection to my iPhone or iPad or a streaming option like the WiiM. For the streaming option, I would switch out the A01 Pro for an Aiyima T9 or something similar. It has line in for the TT and I could connect the Wiim with optical and stream AM through Airplay 2. But I'm confused about whether Airplay 2 actually supports lossless, so I'm hoping to get some clarification on that?

The other option would be a wired connection with my iPhone. I'm assuming I could do this with an RCA switch allowing me to have two wired RCA connections to the A01 Pro - one for the TT and one for the phone. If I went with the wired option, I would consider swapping out the A01 Pro for the A07 for the better chip/performance.

Lastly, all of this assumes that these non-Bluetooth options would be noticeably better than the A01 Pro's Bluetooth, and I'm hoping to confirm that assumption. Any thoughts or guidance on this would be much appreciated.

rationaltime

Here is my opinion.

Bluetooth is not just one standard. Over time manufacturers have recognized