• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie seeking to find some answers on studio monitor hiss levels

soundglutton

Hey everyone! Newbie here so if this belongs in a different section, please let me know.

I've been reading the forums here for awhile, trying to find some info on hiss levels/self noise on several studio monitors. The only thing that was helpful was the graph showing the Brand vs Average self noise but it only shows the brand and not the specific model. Most of the other answers were vague or 'you have to do this, change that cable, etc.' which didn't help.

The only companies that even mention self noise from my research are Neumann (KH 80dsp with <20db (A) SPL) and Genelec (8010A, with <5db SPL). I've never heard these speakers in person so I have no reference as to how quiet (or noisy) that is, in relation to my current monitors, JBL LSR305P mk2. While I love the sound of my JBLs, the hiss gets in the way when working at low volumes, which is most of the time since I live in an apartment. And if you have super sensitive hearing like I do, you know what a nightmare that is.

The only places near me with studio monitors set up is Guitar Center. It was kind of hard to tell with all the other monitors powered on but I was able to get a general idea on a few. The monitors I checked out were: JBL LSR306P, Kali Audio LP6 V2, Adam T5V, Yamaha HS8, Mackie MR824, M-Audio (can't remember model), Genelec 8010A and a couple I haven't heard before. According to my ears, this was the order of noisiest to quietest: JBL, Adam, Kali, Genelec, Mackie, Yamaha and M-Audio. I can't really count the Genelecs because I think the speakers were blown.