• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie question: My room BOOMS at 146Hz. I started noticing it today and it's now ruined listening.

robo

I'm pretty new to nice audio equipment, but have been assembling a decent-ish desktop setup in my home office. Right now I have an Allo Volt D+ amp and KEF Q150 speakers, and am using the analog output from my MacBook Pro. The speakers are on my desk on foam wedges.

I was fairly happy with the setup for a few days, until the track 'Gone Gone Gone' (Robert Plant and Alison Krauss) came on. It has a low drum tuned to a D which absolutely overwhelmed the song. I thought that sounded strange, so put on my headphones - and the drum was barely noticeable. Then I played some other music on my speakers, and yep, that low D just booms. All I hear now is D D D, and it's really ruined listening for me.

I started playing around with a sine wave generator and determined that the room seems to just resonate at 146Hz, which is unfortunately a common frequency in music. I also found a trough around 172Hz. Between 146Hz and 172Hz, there's a 33 decibel difference according to a decibel meter app on my phone (80dB vs 46dB) when I hold it near my ears in my normal listening position, which seems pretty crazy.

What can I do about this? It's I've tried moving my desk a bit but it hasn't made much difference. There's carpet on the floor, a bed, but not a whole lot of other furniture. My desk is in the corner facing out, so there are walls behind me.

I haven't delved into room acoustics at all before, but would be keen for any advice here.

Thanks!

robo

Last edited:

suttondesign

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor