• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie here with PC questions

Tom C

Major Contributor
These are about 9” x 6” x 8-1/2”. If that fits, it’s an excellent option, widely available at places like Sweetwater, Guitar Center, etc. The Kalis will sound great, but likely be too big for your desktop.
Just to be clear, the Genelecs, Kalis and Neumanns all have built-in amplifiers, so you don’t need to buy an external amp to power them, and you save space that way too. You do have to plug each speaker into the wall, though.

NiagaraPete

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
My
These are about 9” x 6” x 8-1/2”. If that fits, it’s an excellent option, widely available at places like Sweetwater, Guitar Center, etc. The Kalis will sound great, but likely be too big for your desktop.
Just to be clear, the Genelecs, Kalis and Neumanns all have built-in amplifiers, so you don’t need to buy an external amp to power them, and you save space that way too. You do have to plug each speaker into the wall, though.
My experience with the Kali was not good. The digital hiss was audible from 3 meters. The newer models may be better.

Last edited:

iMickey503

Forum Donor
Before you buy anything? Go to a Guitar center. Ask the Rep there Early in the morning when they are not busy to showcase some speakers for you on their DAW setup. See what your missing.

the soundsticks are really nice speakers for what they are because they're designed for looks.
I don't like wearing headphones all that much either.

the best Improvement is a set of speakers set up correctly. you said that you like the sound from your headphones well try to go around and audition some speakers that sound close to that sound you like as your yardstick.