• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie here, please help me avoid a big mistake in choosing home theater!

Packerbacker

I have spent the last several months reading, and reading, and reading some more. I have learned a lot but I’m having a hard time deciding what equip to buy.

Our basement project is almost complete, i wired it for 5.1, coiled behind drywall figured i would cut out for inwalls. We have a 1yo and 3yo so these seemed safe vs floor speakers. I then picked up a Yamaha TSR-7080 from Costco, which i think it similar to or the same as a A-780 Just a different model number so Costco can have different warranty and pricing. This could be returned if makes sense but $430 the price was right!

Since the receiver is 7.2 or can do zone 2 or Atmos now I think i want Atmos. the additional plane of sound seems appealing, or is it a gimmick? If it is worth the price, I can easily fish 2 more wires in ceiling.

Attached are some photos, we have no furniture yet but were thinking one big sectional. Layout such that people Standing around island can see over the top of those sitting on the furniture.

In-walls are preferred, but I’ve read that floor speakers are much better value sound/price wise and do considering this option. Also read that book shelves can be even better value with a decent sub. Bookshelves are out unless they are mounted to the wall, i am confident they would be knocked over by the kids. If i did towers in front they will have to be tethered to the wall, if possible (Just dont trust it). Our kids are not rowdy but again they are still very young.