• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie here: looking for inexpensive DAP

OP
A

artshotwell

The $110 Qudelix 5k works perfectly with LG Rebel via 3-wire OTG cable and USB. I have this combo by my bedside now - driving HE400i (balanced needed). Qudelix has a really great 10-band PEQ. You might consider it as a next step..

Not only can you tailor the headphone response, you might try adding a bit of boost in the 'dialog' range (500Hz-3kHz? Others with more experience advise?) and/or notch out any particular range that triggers tinnitus..

Now, whether to get new headphones or a Qudelix as the next step - I can't say. (Others advise?) - as I know nothing about the HD450bt. ( @solderdude?)

I'm partial to low distortion planar open back - hence my HE400i ($180). But I also use - a lot - a $79 Phillips dynamic open back - the SHP9500 (for tv, as it's extremely comfortable hours on end).

However, since you are ultimately thinking of HP replacement, and IMO need PEQ in any event, I personally would get the Qudelix first - and try it with the HD450bt you have. Then, if I were unhappy even after doing my best with PEQ, I'd then be considering HP replacement..

Note: this is the OTG cable you need to connect the Qudelix (also using one of its supplied cables) to the LG Rebel:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07B6CRW6D/

When you power the cable thru the female microUSB connector using the LG supplied usb power brick, both devices will be powered from it.
I notice the battery level drops fairly fast... It went from 100 to 83% overnight and I wasn't using it. I'm still working on turning off services that I don't need, so I may be able to improve that.

Cahudson42

Major Contributor