• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie here: looking for inexpensive DAP

artshotwell

HI, as my subject line indicated, I'm a newbie here. Just found this website. I'm looking for a decent streaming music player with HiRes capability. This despite knowing I think I have some higher frequency hearing loss. I started off using my iPhoneXr streaming several streaming music accounts: Qobuz, Deezer, Tidal, AmazonMusicHD and Apple Music. It seems to me that, even with hearing loss and Tinnitus, the best sounding music reaching my ears, will still sound best. I have been able to hear some differences between the five services I've tried, but don't know exactly that the differences are. I have stopped Tidal, Deezer and Qobuz and have been comparing Amazon and Apple since both trials are 90 days. I have a relative low-end Sennheiser over-the-hear headphones. But starting there.

So, I'm wondering how an iPod would compare with anything else out there. And, what else is out there in the $300 or below range... Adding: I really want something separate from my phone.

Any suggestions??? Thanks

Cahudson42

Major Contributor
May I suggest a $29 learning experience?
LG Rebel tracFone:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QHQ79XH/

You throw away all the tracFone stuff including sim card. It runs perfectly fine on 2.4g wifi without it.

Android 8. Add your music apps. I'm using Amazon music right now. Has Qualcomm Snapdragon chipset. Most likely (not sure) w/WDC9xx audio. (Runs my SHP9500 fine).

Also supports USB OTG. You can add a $109 Qudelix 5k via USB if the 3.5mm is unsatisfactory. Pick up a PEQ and optional balanced out. (I just did so.)