• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

New wideband compression driver - Celestion Axi2050 (300-20K, no crossover)

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I'm not an expert on compression drivers but this thing seems interesting.
https://audioxpress.com/news/celestion-to-demonstrate-axi2050-axiperiodic-driver-during-namm-2019

1586062941719.png

PE has it on sale for 1K:
https://www.parts-express.com/celes...bandwidth-compression-driver-4-bolt--294-2142

It weighs 18 pounds.

Anyone have any idea what kind of horn you'd put this in?

stevenswall

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Curious what it does besides get loud.

TimVG

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
And how it compares to the B&C versions, which are for us best known from the JTR noesis designs.

beefkabob

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I don't see the purpose of spending several thousand on this versus a properly engineered box.

renaudrenaud

Major Contributor
I don't see the purpose of spending several thousand on this versus a properly engineered box.
Some have maybe an interest on it.

Building speakers is really interesting process where you can learn a lot.

That's a position. You can buy or try to build. And the one does not exclude the second.

beefkabob

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Some have maybe an interest on it.

Building speakers is really interesting process where you can learn a lot.

That's a position. You can buy or try to build. And the one does not exclude the second.

If I create something, it's usually something that'll make me money. This will not.

DownUnderGazza

Forum Donor