• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

New To Forum - Advice Please

Jimi1983

Hello

I’m a newbie here, and this site has an amazing wealth of insights. I am just getting back into stereo systems and am looking to upgrade a 25 year old audio system. I am not well informed about more modern systems.

I’m interested in creating a high quality streaming audio stereo system that will predominantly (95%) be used for music listening, but that will also be connected to a smart TV for basic 2-channel home theater. Listening will be in a large great room about 20’ x 60’. The system will serve a pair of indoor passive speakers and a pair of outdoor passive speakers. I’d like to have the flexibility to be able to: 1) play only indoor or only outdoor speakers at one time; or 2) play both sets of speakers with the same music simultaneously; or 3) play both sets of speakers with different music simultaneously (this is the least important of the three). Currently for streaming I use Amazon Prim Music, but may consider other systems at some. Point. I’d also like to be able to connect a CD/DVD/Blue Ray player to the amp, as well as a USB storage device with ripped CDs from my collection. I’d also like it be able to use headphones, at least wireless, but wired would also be nice (but absence of that ability would not be a deal breaker). Perhaps I’m wrong, but so far it seems I may need two integrated streaming amps to power my inside and outside passive speakers (home is already pre wired and I’m avoiding wireless speakers to help with better connection).