• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

New SMSL M500

killervidra

Hi, All,

I'm a newbie here and searched for a good performance / price DAC with XLR outs, checked the discussion on this forum back and forth. SMSL has been released recently The M500, which would fit to my needs (however I found first SU-8, but was unavaiable in Europe)
Since SU-8 tested by Amir with a good result and M500 is not reviewed yet, I would go with SU-8, but I found a promise sent by SMSL-Mandy, that M500 will be send to Amir after 02.09.2019 .
Please, Mandy , if you sent it already, please let us know !!!!!

If it is on the way, then i would wait till the result and change my mind to M500 :)

1567592799133.png

eXlero

Hi! I'm a Tidal HiFi subscriber, so was looking for a DAC with MQA decoding capabilities, also need balanced out for my Amp. So the M500 would be the perfect combo. This is why I'm also looking forward to the measurement results and also to some reviews/feedbacks.
Related to the M500s MQA capabilites: in the description they mention it's a full MQA Decoder (so not an MQA Renderer, like the AudioQuest DragonFly) - so I was wondering if this is just marketing/bad wording, or the real deal.

masonHsieh

I'd like to know about it too. I place my order on 3rd Sep, but the status shows it's waiting for the dispatch.
Btw, I bought it from a Chinese website, and they sold it for 2200rmb only.

OP
K

killervidra

Hi! I'm a Tidal HiFi subscriber, so was looking for a DAC with MQA decoding capabilities, also need balanced out for my Amp. So the M500 would be the perfect combo. This is why I'm also looking forward to the measurement results and also to some reviews/feedbacks.