• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

New Hobby

zog13

During Covid-19 I have started playing with a raspberry pi and streaming music. I have played with Moode Audio and Volumio. But I want to take the next step. I am just starting out on this new hobby :) I have the following:

Intel Nuc 10 Ubuntu 20
Raspberry Pi 4 and 3
Allo Boss Dac (just ordered)
Sonos Arc
A lot of Flac Music on google drive

My Plan?

Install Logitec Music Server on Intel Nuc. Mount a google drive using Rclone. Install piCorePlayer on raspberry pi w/ Dac. Thoughts? Any better suggestions?

And finally, I need a pair of good bookshelf speakers?

Thank you!

OP
Z

zog13

I guess about $400 - $500. No clue yet where to get them

Aldoszx

You can try to install Daphile as LMS on NUC.
piCorePlayer is a good alternative for Squezelite client but you can try also Ropieee XL.

ScofieldKid

Some Revel speakers have been getting good reviews here...

sweetchaos

Major Contributor
The Curator
Have you seen the database of speakers? Link
Since your budget is under $500/pair, you can see all the reviewed options below.
I've excluded options above this price point.
1601315185025.png

sweetchaos

Major Contributor
The Curator
Yes I would like powered speakers
Well, that narrows down the options a lot.
We're now looking at powered speakers below $500usd/pair.

From the picture above, you can see 3 options that stand out (in no particular order):
- JBL 305P MKII (has -6dB at 41hz)
- AudioEngine A5+ Classic (has -6dB at 53hz)
- Yamaha HS5 (has -6dB at 54hz)

Different sizes, of course. Do you have a limit on the size of the speaker? Maybe you have a limited space and prefer smaller ones? Or no limit?

All of which, Amir liked and recommended.

EDIT: