• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Neumann KH 120 A vs JBL 705p for surrounds

mcsound

Apologies if this has been discussed…I did a search but couldn’t find a clear answer to my specific issue.

I have a home theater setup in an untreated living room and I am looking to upgrade the surrounds to active studio monitors that I could potentially use professionally (broadcast audio engineer by trade). The listening distance is around 3m. I am familiar with the sound of both the KH 120 and the 705p but I am wondering what would be best in this case. The 705p looks like it has a wider horizontal directivity than the KH 120. Since they will be used as surrounds, would the KH120 be better because the narrower directivity would “localize” the sound more? Or would a wider directivity be better at that distance? Or would I not even notice the difference? Curious if anyone has any thoughts.

Thanks in advance!

tifune

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
That's that more closely align with your LCR are probably the best choice

jhaider

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Between those two I would pick 705p. I’ve found that narrower pattern surrounds localize to the the speakers more. In the DPL-2 days I would take a KEF or Tannoy coax…and aim it to the ceiling!

That said, if you’re not going to take them off the walls and use as nearfields I would get something else entirely: JBL CBT. If KH 120 has enough output for you CBT 50 should suffice.

OP
M

mcsound

That's that more closely align with your LCR are probably the best choice