• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need help figuring out some gear I inhertited

Bmmmj

I’ve been lurking on these boards and others recently as a year ago I inherited some amazing headphone gear that I’m trying to learn about.

I’m not very technically inclined so it’s been a bit of a learning curve. Even if I’m not doing everything right I’ve been blown away by the gear and as someone who loves music I’m looking forward to learning more about it.

Prior to getting the gear I didn’t know the what DAC was, the difference between open/closed headphones, and I still don’t understand what a preamp does.

The gear consists of a Arya Stealth, Dan Clark Aeon Noire, ADI-2 Dac, and a Burson Soloist 3x, Mojo 2. (There is no way I could afford any of this stuff, I feel incredibly fortunate) I’ve done a ton of reading and I’ve about the HP’s and Amps/Dacs so I have a sense of what they do and their characteristics.

Primarily I’m hoping to get some help setting up the ADI-2 as a DAC for the Burson. The ADI-1 is supper complicated I really don’t get what most of the menus do.

My Questions:

Currently I have ADI-2 connected to the Burson via RCA to Stereo mini. Would I benefit from getting Balanced XLR cables to connect them and should I get a XLR cable for my headphones? If so the Burson came with some XLR cable ends, should I use those?

Using the ADI as a DAC I notice I can control the volume from any either device. Should the ADI be set a particular DBR Level when paired with the Burson. Are there other settings that I should set in the ADI?

What gain level should I use on the Burson?