• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need help choosing a player for Flac files

forss

I have the following

Topping L 30
AKG K-240
25GB of FLAC files
Acer Chrome book

Chromebook is my weakest link and I would like a player that is a good high res player without spending more than say 200.00 or less.

Can anyone help me , I am new at Audio and not wanting to make a costly mistake.

Thank You,
Steven -

JoeBrooklyn

If you are playing them from your Chromebook, then I think you need a DAC to go with your L30, rather than another player.
It would be Chromebook USB ---> DAC ----> L30 ---> AKG. A topping D10s would work well.

OP
F

forss

Software is irrelevant. If you are using the 3.5mm jack from your laptop to feed the headphone amp, get a USB DAC like the Topping D10s and you will be set.
I am using the 3.5mm jack from the chromebook , Thank You for responding is the DAC -D10 also a player ? like I said I am knew to this and will be asking stupid questions

JoeBrooklyn

I am using the 3.5mm jack from the chromebook , Thank You for responding is the DAC -D10 also a player ? like I said I am knew to this and will be asking stupid questions
The D10s is a not a player, it is a Digital to Analog Converter (DAC). It converts the digital audio stream coming out of the Chromebook USB to an analog signal to feed into the L30. It should make the FLACs playing on the Chromebook sound better than the 3.5mm audio coming out of your Chromebook.

What you have now:
Chromebook Plays & Converts FLAC to Analog 3.5 mm ---> L30 AMP ----> AKG

Future:
Chromebook plays FLAC to USB (digital) ---> DAC D10 Converts to Analog RCA ----> L30 Amp ---> AKG

OP
F

forss

Just upgraded my Headphones