• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need advice to pick the perfect Amp/DAC stack for my headphones

flaviouz

Hello everyone,

After working very hard for the last few years, I finally managed to get myself a very nice bonus at work and plan to use it on audio gear.
Bear with me... I am a total newbie but a friend of mine is selling me his Meze Audio Empyrean headphones for cheap so... I'll start with that.

I do have a plan to buy either the "Dan Clark Audio EXPANSE" or the "Focal Utopia (2020)" headphones on top of that so my first question is: any of you having an opinion on which one I should go for?

Secondly, I am on the market for a great Amp/DAC/Streamer (AIO or not) and have narrowed it down to those so far:
  • Niimbus US 5 Pro
  • Matrix mini I3 Pro
  • Naim Uniti Atom
  • Headamp GSX-Mini
  • Chord Dave
  • Benchmark HPA4
  • dCS Lina
As you can see, I am not so budget constrained but would of course love to get the best bang for my buck. I believe it'll be about synergy with my headphones in the end.

Some requirements:
  1. Not too bulky (I own a small apartment, I don't have room for an entire piece of furniture)
  2. I would love to be able to just plug speakers instead of my headphones if I ever move or decide to buy speakers (although I know that's a tough one)
  3. Must be somewhat stylish (it'll be in my living room)
From the reviews, it looks like spending the big bucks for the dCS Lina might be worth it but I'd like your opinions as it is a huge amount of money and want to be 100% it's the right call before pulling the trigger.

I love the Dave but I feel like it's getting a bit old now...