• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Most power-efficient USB-C-to-3.5mm dongle?

bigdoinks

Hi, I know a lot of talk on here is regarding getting the best possible audio fidelity but I am not an audiophile at all and am solely interested in finding whatever USB-C-to-3.5mm dongle will use the least of my iPad’s battery?

I’ve seen lots of thorough analysis on here but being a complete novice I cannot comprehend a lot of the information and was just hoping for some guidance. Is there any definitive data that says for instance whether the Google Pixel adapter uses more or less power than the Apple one?

Thanks all

johnp98

I am also interested in this. What would be the best "bang for your buck" dongle for mobile use and could it work for iOS and USB-C?

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Hi, I know a lot of talk on here is regarding getting the best possible audio fidelity but I am not an audiophile at all and am solely interested in finding whatever USB-C-to-3.5mm dongle will use the least of my iPad’s battery?

I’ve seen lots of thorough analysis on here but being a complete novice I cannot comprehend a lot of the information and was just hoping for some guidance. Is there any definitive data that says for instance whether the Google Pixel adapter uses more or less power than the Apple one?

Welcome...

Amir does not measure current draw of DAC's so alas you won't find any answers here.
I don't know of anyone (aside from IVX) who measures drawn current from dongles. In IVX's case he wanted to see the maximum that can be drawn without any issues.

My son has a Samsung dongle.
I will try to measure the current and post it here but that will serve little use because you need to compare currents.

Beershaun