• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Monoblock / Bridged amplifier explained

Audio Neophyte

I'm fairly new to the deep dive into the audio world, though I already have built a fairly nice system. My next move will probably be an upgrade in amplifier(s). When reading posts to various audio sites, I have read some confusing posts regarding monoblock amps and/or bridged amplifiers. I originally understood that employing two monoblock amps in a system would generally, all things relative price-wise, etc. produce improved sound by powering each channel by a separate amplifier. But some posts seem to adamantly argue that the use of two monoblock amps is a bridged amp system that increases power but degrades sound in several ways. Or are bridged amplifiers different than running two monoblocks? Should I just consider a similarly well-thought of stereo amplifier for the upgrade? Any clarity (not crazily technical) from this site would be greatly appreciated. Hope I explained the issue adequately. Thanks.

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Welcome to ASR.

An amp can be monoblock and not be bridged. Some stereo amps can be bridged for more power into a single mono channel.

If properly designed the topology likely has no real consequences for listening.

More than that might get somewhat more technical than you want. The main takaway being you can bridge some stereo amps to monos. Or you can have an amp that is just one channel, and it not be bridged.

nerdstrike