• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Minidsp SHD Calibration routine; 6 months on

My adventures in stereo

I have been using a minidsp SHD for nearly 6 months now

This used to be my routine :

Measuring the subs, with no crossover enabled
Making sure both subs & both mains are at the same levels
I run my subs around 6 db above the mains, keeping in mind the Fletcher Munson curve & my listening preference
Auto aligning the subs, using the tool in REW & then eq’ing flat to 120 Hz
I then enable low pass filter at 80 Hz & low pass filter at 80 Hz & import the eq filter in to the minidsp
Then I run the, Dirac live software, from the minidsp software

The results were sub optimal

My present routine is:

First measure the subs individually, with the mains on for timing reference, at my normal listening level, with no crossover enabled & no PEQ
Then I use the REW alignment tool to get my subs ( 2 SVS PB 2000 Pro) aligned, in my room a 0.5 ms delay works well, as the subs are nearly symmetrically placed
I then dial the delay in to minidsp to the appropriate sub out put & run a measurement, to confirm the alignment
Then I run the REW eq process flat from 16 -200 hz
I then import the eq obtained in to minidsp sub output
Then rerun a measurement to confirm the eq is suitable & also try some sample music
At this point, I also add crossover, high pass and low pass filters both set
I tried adding x over post dirac & the results were not great

20220917_191638 with xover post dirac.jpg

Now starts the dirac process
aim for a target of -40 db above the nose floor, to get a clear test tone
I have gotten best results with the tightest config, for a single person in a chair
The exact primary listening position, is crucial