• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Measurements of Parks Audio Puffin Phono Stage

urom

Being a longtime lurker on this forum this is my first time message. I got the puffin in may 19 and i like it very much. Last week I implemented the Spdif mod, which works. Only issue is that, connected to a Topping E30 Dac, I get a disturbing hum. It is not very loud, but clearly heared in silent passages of the record. The cartridge is an old Shure VST V with new stylus. The analog out of the puffin is dead silent. The E30 is, connected to my AVM CD Transport via Coax, silent to. Toslink and USB are also silent. I tried different psu, but no success. Any idea on this?

watchnerd

Grand Contributor
Being a longtime lurker on this forum this is my first time message. I got the puffin in may 19 and i like it very much. Last week I implemented the Spdif mod, which works. Only issue is that, connected to a Topping E30 Dac, I get a disturbing hum. It is not very loud, but clearly heared in silent passages of the record. The cartridge is an old Shure VST V with new stylus. The analog out of the puffin is dead silent. The E30 is, connected to my AVM CD Transport via Coax, silent to. Toslink and USB are also silent. I tried different psu, but no success. Any idea on this?

Try running a grounding wire from the Puffin to the Topping, in addition to the one from the TT to the Puffin.

audiopile

Q: Did you self install the sPDIF jack or did it come factory installed ? Q-2: Have you installed the latest software yet? Q-3: what are you using to feed the Topping the signal from the Puffin ? Is is 75 ohm co-ax construction ?

urom

Balle Clorin

Major Contributor