• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Massdrop THX AAA 789 Amp VS JDS Atom

zblackwell

Hello all,

I saw the THX amp may be dropped today. I'm a noob at fully understanding the analysis on both these amps, but I already own the Atom and am pleased. It looks like from the two analysis threads that the THX amp wouldn't really be an upgrade running my HD800s. Is my conclusion correct?

Last edited:

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Why is this?
The Atom actually has more than THX in its unbalanced headphone connection.

The advantage of THX is balanced input if you pair it with a balanced output DAC to avoid ground loops. If you don't have ground loops then that doesn't matter.

You snooze you lose brotha, it was live for about 1hr.

monkey4054

Bloody time difference! It was 4 am here when the drop went live. Eh, I'll just get the Atom then. Not waiting until August to maybe get to order it.

daftcombo

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Bloody time difference! It was 4 am here when the drop went live. Eh, I'll just get the Atom then. Not waiting until August to maybe get to order it.

Good purchase, and it will save you a lot of money for the same sound quality.

daftcombo

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Yes. I ordered the Massdrop THX amp in the drop three months ago, having heard from posters here that it would actually ship shortly after the drop despite the ridiculous ship date shown in the drop. Well, it still hasn't shipped. Regretting that I didn't just buy an Atom.

Seing your three systems, you are not short of music though ;-)

daftcombo

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I hear you.
Well, you could get an Atom for system 1 and wait for the THX for system 3.

michaelye168