• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Mark Knopfler Shows How it is Done on the Guitar

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)

Completely self-taught.

I remember trying the guitar when I was 8 or 10 years old and finding it so difficult just to play a couple of notes. The finger strength and stretch it took was amazing relative to my impression of it.

Ronm1

Mark' s sound was initially quite unique as he applied a picking style when using his electric. Implementing Either a simple Travis or blues to bluegrass pick with an electric. No hard pick on his fingers to give that softer edge or bite.

OP
amirm

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
As it happens, Frank just post another "instructional" video of Tommy Emmanuel which I think nicely compliments the above video from Mark:

Definitely worth a watch.

RayDunzl

Grand Contributor
Central Scrutinizer

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
Thanks Ray
I remember seeing that somewhere else once?
Amazing how they just fall into a incredible jam like that.
Two of the all time greats.

RayDunzl

Grand Contributor
Central Scrutinizer
Amazing how they just fall into a incredible jam like that.

It was probably a little promotional appearance for their album "Neck and Neck"

R-1468886-1222028123.jpeg.jpg

Wombat

Master Contributor

restorer-john

Grand Contributor
As it happens, Frank just post another "instructional" video of Tommy Emmanuel which I think nicely compliments the above video from Mark:

I used to see Tommy Emmanuel live every year in late 80s and early 90s at a Japanese backed Jazz and Blues Festival where I live in Queensland.