• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

>Looking to get better sound out of my chromecast audio..is a DAC the answer?

JBD

Hello folks, i'm new here. I have been using a chromecast audio for several years plugged into my vintage late 80s harman kardon integrated ampand streaming a 400 gig collection of music from my latop.. I have been wondering if a DAC (have the topping e30 in mind) would improve the sound? Also, what would the logistics of connecting the chromecast audio and the e30 together into my vintage amp entail? Thanks!

anon2k2

Forum Donor
The way to connect your CCA to the DAC is with a 3.5mm Toslink cable. Apparently the native casting protocol to send music to the CCA isn’t very good, but the method that Roon uses to send music to the CCA can be very good.

OP
J

JBD

no idea who or what roon is...lol

OP
J

JBD

ok just looked it up...sounds great...but cant afford.

bigx5murf

Addicted to Fun and Learning
What are you streaming to your CCA? Most streaming services are limited by low bitrate audio. Nothing hardware will improve that.

BillG

Major Contributor
Apparently the native casting protocol to send music to the CCA isn’t very good

I don't know where you're getting that idea from. However, I've used Chromecasts for several years now, both the audio and video varieties, and I've never had a serious issue with Google Cast. It's far easier to deal with than DLNA/UPnP, and even Bluetooth on occasion, once one goes through a very simple configuration process.

There was a bug with sending 24/96 content to CCA - it would stutter intermittently - but that's been resolved for, at least, over a year now.

bigx5murf