• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Long, odd room

OzarkCDN

Hi all - newbie here and hope this is an appropriate forum. I have an odd-shaped, long, narrow-ish room where I'm looking for a more appropriate speaker and would love some guidance where to start evaluating different options. Spousal compliance dictates the general-ish place where the tv / speakers will be... although I've been moving them outboard from the fireplace when she's not around... the one measurement I'm missing is that the couch is about 12' back from the front of the TV screen / speaker fronts.

Just dipping my toes into the waters and certainly happy to learn and find out how to equip myself better in this hobby.

IMG_1615.jpg

Snoochers

It's a big space so good sound would require some pretty powerful low-end drivers (subs). The placement of the speakers is tricky. I wouldn't want to be moving speakers all the time and they're currently a bit too close together. Mounting them on the far walls also sounds a bit extreme?

LTig

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Well, for good imaging speakers and listening position should form an equilateral triangle. If you can live with moving speakers that's probably the best choice. You could put tiny markers on the floor where the sound is best.

If the listening position is fix start with placing the speakers on two lines at 30 degree left and right and vary the distance. Check where the sound is best, or better invest in a Umik1 measurement microphone and get the free REW software.

Hipper

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Welcome to ASR.

Is your intention to listen to music and films? In stereo or multi channel/surround sound?