• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Little help neede with reading REW measurement outcome

AudioRookie

Dear experts

I am a real rookie in this field, so pardon my ignorance.

I managed to make a setup with my calibrated UMIC-1 and made a measurement.
I do not know what to do next in order to generate a EQ filter for use in software TRD NOVA.

What does 'target level' do? Must I change it? I get a warning that I do not understand.

Thank you for your help.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2021-01-24 at 15.25.48.png
    Screen Shot 2021-01-24 at 15.25.48.png
    33.1 KB · Views: 114
  • Screen Shot 2021-01-24 at 15.25.57.png
    Screen Shot 2021-01-24 at 15.25.57.png
    47 KB · Views: 130
  • Screen Shot 2021-01-24 at 15.35.41.png
    Screen Shot 2021-01-24 at 15.35.41.png
    30.8 KB · Views: 117

Eetu

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Is this a subwoofer-only measurement? If so, set 'Speaker Type' to Subwoofer.

What frequencies do you want your subwoofer to play back? Modify your 'target' based on that.

The warning is because you have set the target too low in relation to your in-room response.

The 'target' means that everything above it will be EQ'd down (and, depending on your EQ settings, everything below the target will get boosted). You generally want the target to be mostly following your in-room response or slightly below so that peaks are cut by the generated EQ filters. You can shift the 'target level' up & down where it's optimal.

I wouldn't boost dips at all (or max a couple dBs) since if they're caused by nulls or SBIR EQ'ing them is futile.

You can read more here.

OP
A

AudioRookie

Thank you for answering, unfortunately I still do not understand the principle.