• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Linton Heritage 85th Anniversary - Tweeter problem ?

PappyBlue

Forum Donor
I just received a pair of Wharfedale Linton Heritage 85th Anniversary that I ordered a while ago. When I first started listening to them, something sounded very wrong on some tracks, particularly electric guitars.

I took some measurements in REW. Nothing seemed wrong, but then I checked the "distorsion" tab. Blue line is left speaker, green line is right speaker. Measurements taken 1 foot from speaker at tweeter height. I have no clue what I am doing in REW, I am a beginner, but clearly this seems to indicate something is wrong with the right sepaker. Any ideas ?

distorsion.jpg

OP
PappyBlue

PappyBlue

Forum Donor
I just received a pair of Wharfedale Linton Heritage 85th Anniversary that I ordered a while ago. When I first started listening to them, something sounded very wrong on some tracks, particularly electric guitars.

I took some measurements in REW. Nothing seemed wrong, but then I checked the "distorsion" tab. Blue line is left speaker, green line is right speaker. Measurements taken 1 foot from speaker at tweeter height. I have no clue what I am doing in REW, I am a beginner, but clearly this seems to indicate something is wrong with the right sepaker. Any ideas ?

View attachment 57037
Crossover frequency are 630hz and 2400hz, so it's not the tweeter!?!

sfdoddsy

You'll still get some output from the tweeter even with a 2.4K crossover.

thewas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Not necessarily. Could you switch the channels/cables from your amp to make sure its a loudspeaker issue?