• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Legality of recording Bluetooth audio

Ulf

Can I manufacture and sell a Bluetooth speaker with a recording feature (from BT audio to a local memory, allowing later playback through the speaker) without violating any licensing terms?

L5730

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Hi,
Firstly I'll say I hate it when I ask a question and get an answer of "why would you want to do that?". But I am going to ask exactly this.
Would not having SD card or USB mass storage support be a better option? In this day and age, would people really want to spend time recording audio in real time to a portable speaker?

I have no experience on the legal issues or even what is required for normal audio recording devices. I'd highly suspect that laws will be different in each country though.

OP
U

Ulf

I want to make a music player for small children. Obviously it's annoying to transfer music in real time like it's 1985, but there is not really an alternative. Not everybody can record 30 seconds of Baby Shark from Youtube to a wave file, put on an SD card and transfer to a portable device :)

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
The Bluetooth device has to be licensed but if you have a commercial Bluetooth device it's OK to add a recording circuit or recording device from the analog output.

It's a copyright violation and a violation of your user agreement to record streaming audio from the Internet (although a lot of people do it). The artist/copyright holder gets a fraction of a penny every time it's streamed but of course they don't get paid when you play a stolen copy.