• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

LDAC aptx HD Support on Windows PC using Linux VM

papachigly

So first I'd like to mention I'm completely new to this having never used Linux.
My goal is to get a Windows 10 laptop to transmit LDAC aptx HD codecs to a portable DAC/AMP (iFi audio GO blu) with a minimum form factor.

Having purchased the device, I was a bit naive in thinking, I just turn on bluetooth on the laptop and... HD audio!!On the device is says "Classic aptx" on any file source.
So after a bit of digging, I found out about the possibility of using a Linux virtual machine plus an external Bluetooth transmitter (like a thumb drive) to gain access to the better Bluetooth codecs out there. The problem is my total lack of experience and the amount of info out there leads me to post this, in hope of some help understanding what to do or a link to some sort of guide

tifune

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Shanking M0 or FIIO BTA50 are far easier options for this. I know the Linux VM option is free, but unless learning Linux is of interest to you your time is probably much more valuable than the $100ish you'll spend to just plug and play.

I haven't worked with that type of hypervisor in some time, but USB passthrough compatibility strikes me as your biggest obstacle.

OP
papachigly

papachigly

Shanking M0 or FIIO BTA50 are far easier options for this. I know the Linux VM option is free, but unless learning Linux is of interest to you your time is probably much more valuable than the $100ish you'll spend to just plug and play.

I haven't worked with that type of hypervisor in some time, but USB passthrough compatibility strikes me as your biggest obstacle.