• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Kawai MP11SE (digital piano) Amp Suggestions for a Newbie

jseyfert3

Newbie here. My experience with "good" sound is extremely limited. Like most in my generation (I'm 31), I was raised on tiny tiny speakers in terrible earbuds, phones, laptops, integrated flatscreen TV's, etc. Nobody had any decent speakers. Growing up, at my friend's house "good" speakers were a box set surround sound with big subwoofer...

I did acquire a set of EpiCure 10 speakers, and after replacing the completely shot woofers with new ones from HUMAN Speakers, I thought they sounded pretty darn good. Though one has a damaged tweeter that needs to be replaced. Still, integrated TV speakers to EpiCure 10's with one damaged tweeter is in and of itself night and day, so...

Anyway, I am getting back into learning piano, and recently bought a Kawai MP11SE digital piano (keyboard). This generates internal sound, but does not have any internal speakers, at all. I'm working on getting a speaker setup. Below is my temporary setup, which I suspect may make some of you guys cry.
IMG_9324.jpg

Yes, a pair of random speakers I got from a friend a decade ago, and a $15 Amazon amplifier, plugged into the headphone jack.