• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Kali IN-5 vs. Adam A3X

pinkish

Hey guys,

I posted in these forums a few weeks ago looking for advice about a DAC for my computer. With the help of @Jimbob54 and other users here, I managed to find the best solution for me (iFi Zen DAC) and I'm very happy with my purchase.

I would like your help again in choosing a pair of active speakers for music listening and movie watching. I'm not a music producer, just a regular computer geek. After a lot of reading, I now have to decide between the Kali IN-5s and the Adam A3Xs.

Kali IN-5 - 350€ each
3-way
39Hz - 25kHz
power button at the back :(

Adam A3X - 250€ each
2-way
60Hz - 50kHz
power button on the front

I read that both have hiss in standby mode. Since I'm not able to listen to them before making the purchase, I rely on your experience with these or similar models (IN-8 v2, A5x, A7X etc.).

Which would you choose and why? Cheers! :)

Last edited:

sweetchaos

Major Contributor
The Curator
I would avoid Adam's A#X series...simply because their A series is simply long outdated compared to their newer S and T models.
Read the discussion on the A5X thread to learn more.

Kali IN-5 have good on-axis, but limited in SPL, so it's more of a nearfield monitor than mid-field or far-field.
See Erin's review:
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/kali-in-5-studio-monitor-review.22487/
1621367626365.png

Erin's conclusion was: