• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Issues with REW

01svtL

Having what I can only determine are issues with REW, or possibly the laptop it is loaded on. I have a brand new UMIK-1. I downloaded REW 64 bit and the 2 calc files. Some initial questions to get out of the way:
  1. Is the 64 bit download correct for a basic laptop, or should I have gone with the 32 bit. A quick Google search didn't reveal the difference or a suggestion, and I'm m a total newbie.
  2. When running the measurement sweep, should there be static/crackly coming out of the speaker it is sending the signal to?
  3. I could only get REW to send a signal through the headphone out - into left/right analog input of Marantz. Is this a problem? HDMI out played through the laptop speakers, even though the laptop settings showed it set specifically to Marantz. I checked with a second laptop, no AVR settings changed, and the HDMI output went to the Marantz automatically.
    1. Because of (3), I have deleted REW from the original laptop all together and will download it on my other one once (1), above, is answered. This laptop is a little more powerful, though still just a work-provided laptop. (i7 Dell)
  4. When I'm trying to set the AVR output level to 65db, according the the REW measurement, it sounded low to me, so I put my iPhone right next to the UMIK and it was reading a full 10DB lower than REW. WTF?
  5. Also when trying to set the level to 65db, REW was reading all over the place. Sometimes it would dip all the way to 40 without touching the Marantz volume, sometimes it would read in the 60's with nothing playing at all. I guarantee the ambient sound in my room is not 60+ db. Could headphone out be the issue?