• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Is Umik 2 required for some reason

Harris48

Hello. I want to do some scans of my room. I was looking into a mini DSP. I do a lot of recordings for business so I have active, passive, cardioid, super cardioid, and omni directional all types of mics most with XLR connections because all even half descent professional mics use XLR not USB. My mics cost 4 - 7 times more than the UMIK 2. So my question I had a call with this guy, self-proclaimed expert that sells gain matching services told me that the UMIK 2 was the best and absolutely required but this same guy didn't know what XLR or an audio processor even was so this makes me suspect of his "expertise". I'm new to the REW world but very knowledgeable about AV recording equipment, so good chance he could be right, but his presentation raised potential red flags for me. I just don't want waste money paying for an Uber when I already own a bunch of cars if know what I'm saying.

JohnPM

Technical Expert
No, it isn't. Any half decent omni is fine, if you are going to scrutinise the high end response make sure the mic is flat at the top end, most have some variation or peaks above a few kHz.

D

Deleted member 35357

Maybe a calibration & a result file is all that is necessary for one of your mics?

Though I have no idea where you can get one done, or which mic would be advised for the task.

UMIK-2 is just you get a ready made package for ease of use and less hassles. You know it will work out of package.
I would dare say the UMIK products are more for home enthusiasts that know enough as a starter pack to get started. As their price isn't out of range.