• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Int Amp or DAC+Amp Recommendations for Stereo System

pecpeter

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the audio world largely and have been looking at getting my first stereo system (2.0, possibly change to 2.1 if I decide the bass is lacking) and wanted some recommendations. My budget for the system, without the sub would be $1500-$2000 CAD (~$1120-$1500USD). This would be for a studio condo I'm currently living in, so the space isn't giant. I also listen largely to rock, it's related genres, and electronic music. Starting off, I would be playing music off my computer (Spotify, mp3, some flacc stuff but that's rare) . I don't have a turntable to use just yet either.

I've been looking at Klipsch RP-600M for the speakers. I was thinking that since they're more sentitive, if I get a lower power amp it'll still be fine volume wise. I've also been primarily using grado headphones, which people seem to say are brighter and I've never had an issue using them for hours. I think people say similar things about the Klipsch speakers.

The part I've been going crazy researching about is what amp to get. To give an idea of the type of things I've been looking at, I was considering the Sprout100, NAD D3045, Cambridge AUDIO AXR85/100, IotaVX SA3, started looking into Yamaha as well à bit. I was considering the Topping D10 or similar to convert USB to digital/analog if needed with the amp.

Any of you have any recommendations on things I should look into or would be better for my use case?

Thanks in advance for any help! Happy to answer any extra questions if it helps with recommendations.

Willem

Major Contributor