• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Insights into DAC specs and related graphs?

Tony C.

Greetings! This is my first post, but I am long time lurker, and have developed more than a few systems over the past ~45 years.

Note that I have learned quite a bit through your forum already, and have made an effort to research the significance of the various specs and graphs that are typically used when analyzing components. But I have no science background, and have thus far only owned one stand-alone DAC, so I would appreciate any insights that readers might be able to provide into these measurements, which relate to a particular DAC. I think that it might be useful not to reveal the make and model, as I'd prefer to focus solely on the practical ramifications of these measurements. In other words, whether the DAC is overpriced or not is of little interest to me – I simply want to learn about how to best interpret these type of measurements, and, more specifically, I find this jitter frequency graph difficult to interpret.

Thanks in advance!

spcs2.png
grphs2.png

Last edited:

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Welcome to the forum. We can't see those graphs. If they are from somewhere else, right click on the image and copy the "image source." Then here, use the image icon and select the link (paperclip) and paste the link. The image should then show.

If they are graphs on your computer, simply click on the image in the folder and drag it into your message and it should appear.

MZKM

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
For Blue/Black: