• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Infinity Primus v klipsch Icon

Dizzhy

Hi all, I'm very new to the audio scene and have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. Initially I purchased a set of infinity Primus Speakers (infinity Primus 300, 100 and centre) for a very reasonable price but ended up getting a pretty sub par amp and sub which really made my home theatre and music experience less than stunning. Because of the current lock down in Australia, there is no "try before you buy" and just having purchased a new TV default speakers were definitely not going to cut it. A couple of weeks after I purchased the infinity sound system, an incredible offer for Klipsch Icon (SW 450, vf35, vc25, vs14, onkyo TX-sr 578) for around $270 USD so of course I impulse bought this system.

I'm really unsure if my tuning is incorrect, but the klipsch vf35 (powered by a Denon x2000) seem incredibly bright and lacking with more laid back music, whilst the Primus 300 seem incredibly dull. I suppose my question here is I'm not sure which Speakers to keep, any info regarding klipsch v infinity in this case or the onkyo TX sr 578 v the Denon x2000 would be greatly appreciated.

I should also mention that these are mainly used for music and secondly home theatre.

Kind regards,

Dizzhy

iMickey503

Forum Donor
If I may ask, do you have Photos of your room with the speakers. Reason being, is that your room plays a BIG part in speakers. Doing this would really help out. Just take a few shots of the speakers and try to give general measurements of the room and Placement of the speakers and your listening position facing the speakers. This would be a Big help for further recommendations.