• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

In a fix between Topping EX5 vs Topping E30 and Topping L30 Stack

GeekySimar

Hi All,
I am new in this hobby. I currently have Sennheiser M40x, Moondrop Aria and drive them with Tempotec Sonata HD Pro.
I am looking to upgrade my system now. I have some queries here, can you guys please help me with the understanding the basics here.

1. If I choose to drive my headphones with Headphone Amplifier such as Topping L30, what improvements I will see as compared to using Sonata HD Pro?

2. Why don't we simply use the output of DAC like Topping E30 to drive the headphones? Due to less power? Impedence?

3. Do I really need Headphone Amplifier to drive M40x? (Though I will upgrade that as well in near future and something better)

Considering my above questions, what would be better? Topping EX5 or Toping E30, L30 stack? I will also be using DAC to drive my stereo amplifier.

Simar

bravomail

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Hi All,
I am new in this hobby. I currently have Sennheiser M40x, Moondrop Aria and drive them with Tempotec Sonata HD Pro.
I am looking to upgrade my system now. I have some queries here, can you guys please help me with the understanding the basics here.

1. If I choose to drive my headphones with Headphone Amplifier such as Topping L30, what improvements I will see as compared to using Sonata HD Pro?

2. Why don't we simply use the output of DAC like Topping E30 to drive the headphones? Due to less power? Impedence?

3. Do I really need Headphone Amplifier to drive M40x? (Though I will upgrade that as well in near future and something better)