• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

I did measure a difference between my new Kimber 12TC and AudioQuest 14/4

DannyBukem

56852B9F-46E3-4BB4-B046-FAA58250892D.jpeg
Hi folks,
I wanted to get peoples views on this. Like many on here, I am super sceptical about speaker cables making a discernible difference to my system but I wanted to share this to see what people thought. I have been using Audioquest 14/4 for about 9 years, connecting musical fidelity power amp to monitor audio Gold 200. I use it in bi-Amp, so utilising all 4 wires.
I recently acquired some Kimber 12TC, I know gene at Audioholics raves about how they measure. Having got REW and Umik-1 recently I thought I would see if there was a measurable difference between the cables and I was surprised to see there was a difference. I used completely the same settings ‘Pure direct’ in my yammy 3080 and same volume level. The really odd thing is that the only difference was between 120-170 hz. After 170hz they are absolutely identical. See the graph above… the red line is Kimber, the blue is Audioquest. Weirdly you could argue AQ measure better than Kimber but thought the Kimber sounded slightly louder. Interestingly the Kimber seemed to have about an 8db difference in the room mode I seem to have from 160 hz.

For background, I took 5 readings of each cable then averaged them, both the average and every test showed identical results so it’s definitely not just the way I tested it. There is a difference….. anyone know maybe why?

OP
D

DannyBukem

No mic stayed in the exact same place.