• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

I am just learning about room treatments and would like to do it architecturally

righthookmike

I would prefer not to put panels all over my ceiling corners, I was thinking of putting false beams across my ceiling to stop reflection, It would be cheaper for me since I'm a carpenter and would stop my game/listening room from looking like a recording studio. can anybody help with proper placement to be most effective and I could also run posts on the wall to the beams to break up the straight shot down the wall. Would this work? It is an outdoor covered area with walls on 3 sides. I could give dimensions and sketch a quick floorplan
Mike

FeddyLost

Addicted to Fun and Learning
It is an outdoor covered area with walls on 3 sides.
Typically this will at least greatly help if not fully prevent LF problems as all long waves will exit very fast.
If you will find something annoying in mids-highs, you can always add some wooden diffusion panels. But without one wall you can just slightly angle other walls and slope ceiling, so all reflections will fly out in few milliseconds.

OP
R

righthookmike

It is the mid highs. thank you for your response, how can I calculate where to put the first beam? I think I read the best place to break it up is at the quarter wave? Please remember I only understand the basic concept. It's nothing I've ever done and I just began looking into it as a real consideration the past few days

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor