• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Hypex FA253 for 3 way DIY speakers

shandit66

I've been building speakers for about 15 years - this combines my love for audio and woodworking. :)
These have all been 2 way desktop and small MTM configurations.

About 7 years ago I set out to build a large set of 3 ways. (or 2 way with subs)
Unfortunately things got in the way: moving 3 times, switch careers and now a very demanding 5 year old son.... you know, the usual curve balls that constitue life.

The parts are all still here waiting to be rebuilt after a few less successful attempts
Tweeters: Heil AMT1 - the ESS website shows the SPL at 96 db, but other sites show as high as 107
Mids: 4 Scanspeak 18W/8545 - 88 db
Subs: 4 Scanspeak 23W/4557t02 - these are very inefficient at 83 db

The tops were built as MTM, which is a bit challenging with the AMT-1. So they look like this.
MTM.jpeg

The current attempt is tri-amped with a Behringer active crossover, Crown D-75 amps.
(the sub module is in storage with a Crown K1 amp)

The challenge has always been matching the levels between the tweeters and sub.
Once I get the amps and crossover hooked up, there always hissing in the tweeter.
And admittedly, the Behringer is not a great unit - and it likely the culpret.

Input is my old Mac Pro, from 2012, which acts as a music server in my house.
I would like go digital out, direct to an DAC/XO solution and keep the whole path digital until the amps.
Currently, the Emotiva XDA-2 is the DAC (and remote), so analog out, to the Beringer crossover (so converted back to digital, the analog again) and as far as I have worked out is responsible for the hiss.

So I have been researching the Hypex FA lineup.