• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Humming sound from budget active speakers

sgasser

I'm pretty new to speakers. I have a humming sound coming from my active speakers (budget speakers T-200X https://www.flipkart.com/f-d-t-200x-140-w-bluetooth-soundbar/p/itm98a6aea73d694 [also has pictures of the connections on the backside]).

I've searched for solutions, but can't find any that work for me or that require a component costing more then the speakers themselves.
I've tried bluetooth and aux - both of them have the humming sound. I haven't tried USB.

I thought that it might be a ground loop problem, but the speakers are RCA powered and so putting a ground loop isolator between the speakers and the main unit did get rid of the hum, but it also lowered the volume by roughly 90% and the sound quality was awful. I also tried using another room's wall socket, but that didn't change anything. I don't know what else to try.

ZolaIII

Major Contributor
It's probably bad implementations of class D amplifier having hummm (rising auditable distortion) in it's high's (and from speaker tweeters which you check simply by listening towards them from really close distance).
Did you mesure what they are outputting (white noise/not reproducing anything)?

JayGilb

Major Contributor
What is the brand of isolation transformer you are trying ?
Many lower cost ones have poor frequency response (especially in low frequencies) and your hum reduction may just be part of the overall loudness reduction.

OP
S

sgasser

What is the brand of isolation transformer you are trying ?
Many lower cost ones have poor frequency response (especially in low frequencies) and your hum reduction may just be part of the overall loudness reduction.