• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How to stream cd?

Audiojim

I am new to streaming audio. How do I stream my cds to a receiver from lets say a laptop? Are there different levels of quality or is it always cd quality?
Whats spotify, tidal etc
Is a laptop or a dedicated cd ripping machine best?

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
First off you need to tell us which streamer. There are differences in what kind of broadcast they work with. And do you literally mean stream an actual CD disc in your laptop over to your streaming player?

And there are different levels of quality yes. Most off internet streaming is some variation of MP3 or other data compressed formats. Tidal streams at CD quality. I think there are a couple others that have recently started CD quality streaming.

As for ripping, it doesn't really take anything special. A laptop would be fine if it has a CD disc drive in it. There are a few softwares that will give you a bit perfect rip without any real problem. You may wish to rip to either FLAC or ALAC as these store associated files like the cover art while the wav format isn't really good for this.

OP
A

Audiojim

Are there two kinds of streaming? Streaming from the internet and streaming as in wirelessly transmitting audio within your home from one device to another? Thats the part I am interested in learning about. Is bluetooth cd quality?

is there anything that will stream a cd in real time or does it have to be ripped first onto some form of memory?

OP
A

Audiojim

Can I connect my laptop via ethernet to the router and then allow the amplifier or receiver to pick up the signal? How does that differ from bluetooth?

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor