• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How much amplifier noise floor is normal?- and Crown XLS 1502 questions

Tuocsteem

This is my first time posting but I've been lurking for a while and I hope someone can offer advice, experience, insight or whatever else they might have on my issue.

I recently purchased a Crown XLS 1502, which has been sort of my dream amp for overkill headroom for any pair of speakers I end up getting down the line. This was partially informed by amir's review and many comments from users of asr reinforcing that this amp sounds good and provides a ton of clean enough power, even if it isn't quite hi-fi. However, as soon as I received the amp, hooked it up to my bookshelf speakers and powered it up (without any input plugged in, mind) I was immediately hit by how much noise this amp makes. The hiss coming from my tweeters is LOUD... and that's only slightly an exaggeration- it's clearly audible a meter away at my desk and if I align my head with a tweeter I can walk backwards to the other side of the room and still pick out the static from the background noise. The hiss is louder than the faint hum from the dying cfl bulb in my lamp, it's louder than my computer fans, louder than my tinnitus, clearly audible even when the hvac is running and so on. The hiss from this amplifier dwarfs all the annoying little electronic noises that I've painstakingly removed from my room and now I'm not sure what to do. I guess my question is, for any fellow xls-series owners or audiophiles in general, is this a defective unit? And even if it is, how much amplifier noise is actually normal?