• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How Important is the DAC Chip?

Hi guys,

Conscious of not Hijacking any more threads, I though't I'd start my own one. I am looking to buy a DAC and am considering the RME ADI-2, it seems universally recommended and comes without 'issues' like the SU-9n I currently have - had it two days, its great but I am a tad worried my new diet will last longer than 'it' will.

The reservation I have with the RME ADI-2 FS is that is uses a DAC chip made 6 plus years ago. The ESS ES9028Q2M.

Is this a problem? I have read a few times that the chip itself isn't that important, but as I have no knowledge of the mechanics and electrics involved I don't just 'believe it' without questioning it.

Thank you

Ken Tajalli

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi guys,

Conscious of not Hijacking any more threads, I though't I'd start my own one. I am looking to buy a DAC and am considering the RME ADI-2, it seems universally recommended and comes without 'issues' like the SU-9n I currently have - had it two days, its great but I am a tad worried my new diet will last longer than 'it' will.
The reservation I have with the RME ADI-2 FS is that is uses a DAC chip made 6 plus years ago. The ESS ES9028Q2M.
Is this a problem? I have read a few times that the chip itself isn't that important, but as I have no knowledge of the mechanics and electrics involved I don't just 'believe it' without questioning it.
6 years ago is no problem!
Take a look at this:
The device was mine, I sent it in for review.
- The DAC is now over 10 years old.
- The chipset used was first released in 2005!
- The op-amps used throughout were first released in the late 70s , if I recall correctly.