• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Home theater/music listening (Revel m16 vs Elac DBR62 vs Revel F35)

d2k5000

I am kind of new to the speaker and home theater game, so I could use some help.

Most of my listening experience has been on headphones due to my living situation. However, I may be moving into a larger home where I would not have to worry about the neighbors soon, so I am starting to consider assembling a real home theater system. The room would likely be smallish to mid sized. My budget would be about $3,500 to $4,500. I think that I may have most of the components picked out, but I am struggling to pick the front speakers. This would mostly be for home theater, but I would also like it to be a good 2.0 music experience. I am not looking to spend a ton on the surround speakers, but it seems to make sense to put a larger portion of the budget towards the front speakers.

Here are some options that I am considering:

Elac DBR62 ($699.98 per pair): The cheapest option, but received a very good review for the money.

Revel M16 ($990 per pair): I step up in price. Are they a step up in quality from the Elac? These are the only ones that I can demo locally. I may try to get a listen sometime this week.

Revel Concerta2 F35 ($1760 per pair): A significant jump up in price. I have always kind of assumed that tower speakers would be better for home theater, but Amir's reviews have made me question this.

I also included the other components I was considering just in case it helps the decision.

Thanks everyone!

Elac SUB1010 subwoofers x2
$232.86​
Emotiva B1+ surround speakers x4
$598​
TBD front speakers x2
?​
Elac c52 center speaker
$214.98​
Denon avr-x3700H
$1599​