• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Home Brew Speaker Project

March Audio

Master Contributor
Audio Company
Been pondering over a home brew speaker project for a while. I have never built one before, so its very much formative at the moment and probably more of a bit of fun to see what can be achieved.

Thinking along the lines of a smallish 2 way active DSP standmounts. With the state and low cost of DSP now and availability of good class D amps, passive speakers are making less sense to me. Also the intention is to use with a sub so it doesnt have to go down too low.

Anyway I have been browsing the catalogues of the usual driver manufacturers. Actually been somewhat disappointed with what I have seen in terms of specs from the high rep Scandinavians. In my travels I came across the two following drivers. Anyone had any experience of or comments on them?

Mundorf AMT tweeter - BTW any comments on the subjective effect of limited vertical dispersion?

https://www.madisoundspeakerstore.c.../mundorf-amt23cm1.1-c-air-motion-tweeter-amt/

Morel 5" Woofer

https://www.madisoundspeakerstore.com/approx-5-woofers/morel-caw538-5-woofer/

h.g.

Anyway I have been browsing the catalogues of the usual driver manufacturers. Actually been somewhat disappointed with what I have seen in terms of specs from the high rep Scandinavians.
You are confident you can extract what is important and what is less important from the presented specifications? (I think I can guess what might have disappointed you about SEAS specs.)

In my travels I came across the two following drivers. Anyone had any experience of or comments on them?

Mundorf AMT tweeter - BTW any comments on the subjective effect of limited vertical dispersion?