• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help with better understanding of "bridged" stereo amplifier

stbourg

Hi all,
First of all, I'm a beginner with DIY audio so please forgive me if my question is dumb. :confused:
I've this idea of a "mono streamer" but I'm not not very clever when it comes to electronics so after googling and reading now for a couple of hours and still not feeling any wiser I thought I post my question since there are so many brilliant people here.

I've just one 6 ohm three way in-ceiling speaker which I would like to drive with a "Rpi streamer" setup consisting of a Rpi Zero W equipped with a IQAudio DigiAMP+ Hat (link > : https://datasheets.raspberrypi.com/iqaudio/iqaudio-product-brief.pdf ). The speaker only have one + & - connector.

I'll be using Picoreplayer as SW and as such can convert the stereo to a mono signal digitally with ALSA mixer so that's fine (it means that L & R will be combined digitally and the same combined signal will be sent to both L & R of the DigiAmP hat).

So my question regard the power amp part, how should I connect the speaker? In my confused mind I'm kind of thinking connecting both L & R plus and minus on the DigiAMP to their respective speaker terminal will give me a power boost since the DigiAMP is "2x35W".
But now after googling and reading I do understand that it might not be that simple? So what do 'ya say, is there any point of connecting like that or should I just use one of the channels?

Last edited:

Trdat

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
I am sure the others with enough know how will chime in, but in the meantime this link will give you some idea on bridging.

pjug

Major Contributor
Forum Donor