• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help wanted recording the outputs of the DAC and Headphone Amplifier

Roland68

Major Contributor
I would like to digitally record the analog output of DACs and headphone amplifiers as high-resolution as possible.
Unfortunately, I have little to no knowledge of it.

What do I need as hardware?
I have a Macbook and a ZOOM TAC-2R Thunderbolt Audio Converter. Is that enough or do I need a special A / D converter for it?
What software do I use to record the audio signal?
What do I have to watch out for when recording?
Questions upon questions and I am grateful for any help.

Helicopter

Major Contributor
Yes you can use an audio interface and a laptop to measure a headphone amp output. You may need to attenuate the amp so you don't fry your inputs. You may need to make some cables. Of course you will be limited by the ADC performance so if you're measuring SINAD, the interface will work better for a tube amp with 77dB SINAD than a SOTA amp with 120dB. You can start with a loopback to measure your interface, cables, and any external attenuator to get a baseline for the performance capability of the setup.

AnalogSteph

Major Contributor