• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help needed - product advise

Cex

Hi folks.

I’m newbie here, so please don’t be harsh on me

I’ve just sold my aging RX-V477 receiver to buy something more into audio. Also changed from tiny jbl cinema pack speakers to ELAC B6.2

But I’m really confused between products. What I need is good stereo sound, with good dac, not mandatory but optionally network capabilities/ sub output.

So, I’ve checked famous Marantz PM6007, but it’s damn expensive around $950 here in Turkey. Looks like great amp, but no network (although I can drive optical from android tv to amp for Spotify).

Second and third are Marantz PM 6006 and PM 7004. Both used and cost more or less the same money (~520USD).

Forth option is to buy a used PS Audio Sprout 100, which is around ~600USD.

Last but not least is the idea is going for separates, e g. brand new Schiit Modi+ (the new kid on the block, without the number), it seem to cost 221USD including shipping and customs clearance. Alternative; Topping E30 (first gen) seem to cost 158USD, again, shipping and customs included. I tend to buy separates as it’s easier to upgrade a component later on.

But for separates; obviously I need an amp. Cambridge Audio AXA25 costs around 470USD. Or I can go with something less than 150USD from Chinese amps (the limit fir customs shipping excluded).

I really am struggling to decide, as the possibility to listen and compare is next to impossible.

Any ideas would be more than welcome.

P. S. A least charming alternative seem to be the Yamaha WXA50, all in one, Class D (970USD) or Denon Pma 600 for 850USD, not sure about the class.

Last edit: Yamaha A-S301 is available at 580USD new and 420USD used locally.

Cheers,